Repeat after me: I won’t make these mistakes as a software developer/engineer

Working on a project

Software development is that juicy field where the whole world is going right?

Right you are! But most of the developer are self taught just like me and graduated from YouTube University. But the problem is you go behind the hype.

Here in this blog, we will look into various mistakes that I did, so that you don’t want to do that again🥹

Mistake 1 : Skipping the best part

Assuming that you are a computer science student, you have a tendency to skip classes, but that’s okay.

But the topics/syllabus that are there are important in some sense.

I skipped an entire year, focusing on development and not building my foundation.

Don’t do that

Mistake 2: Focus on foundation

As someone said, make your foundation strong and it can resist the longest winter.

No one said that, I made that up.

I used to be a guy who skipped fundamentals of computer science.

I was that guy who thought development>>foundation. Development is actually the application of your foundation or it is the bridge between you and development.

Focus on fundamental topics like:

  • Data structures
  • Algorithms
  • DBMS
  • OOPs
  • Algorithms analysis etc.

Once you got that chill, learning a new language or framework will be as easy as Dogecoin reaching $1, I’m kidding.

Mistake 3: Ten things at a time

As someone said, you cannot breath through your mouth and nose at the same time

You cannot learn multiple things at a same time. But I tried to be like that.

In some sense it is fine, because you won’t get bored learning same stuff for months.

But in the long run, you will be in a situation like Jack of all trades, master of none.

If you are confident enough,just go for it. I understood that I can’t do that.

But believe me still I’m doing that😂

Mistake 4: Going too far

I have this thing in mind you should learn a-z but please don’t.

We are in 2023 where documentation are getting better and better and you don’t have to memorize each and every API reference.

Just get that basic idea of how things work and learn while doing it. That works best for me. It will be time consuming for the first time but eventually you will get that pace.

I have few more blogs, if you want to look further into my thoughts 💭

Want to make some money?

https://adarsh-gupta.medium.com/making-money-as-an-average-developer-is-hard-right-atleast-not-now-42df9f680047

https://javascript.plainenglish.io/i-started-coding-4-in-2020-and-now-this-is-the-result-2770fd89b6d8

Follow Adarsh gupta for more and keep rocking ✈️✈️✈️✈️